Top Alternate or Retro Uniforms in the Pros (#NFL, #NBA, #MLB, #NHL)

I’ve always loved wearing jerseys, especially when it was acceptable and a craze when I was in high school during the mid-2000s. Here’s some of my favorite alternate jerseys in the major leagues, NFL, NBA, MLB and NHL.

NFL:

I think most of the alternate uniforms are terrible, like the Steelers’ bumble bee uniforms or the Packers’ nondescript blue and brown look. But, I have to say this is my list (h/t SI.com):

st louis rams retro

  • LA/St. Louis Rams’ yellow and blue combo

Philip Rivers, Jeromey Clary, Louis Vasquez

  • San Diego Chargers’ baby blue and white

patriots alternate

  • New England Patriots red, white and blue

tampa bay orange

  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers Orange Julius uniforms

atlanta falcons alternate helmet

  • Atlanta Falcons’ red helmet look, which they wore when they last made the Super Bowl before losing to the Denver Broncos and John Elway.

NBA:

It used to be an alternate, but I love the old-school tribute to the new-school Washington Bullets. The name change from the Bullets to the Wizards for politically correct reasons hasn’t help the franchise make it to the Finals since their last shot in the late 70s.

washington bullets

  • Washington Bullets

charles barkley suns

  • Phoenix Suns purple and scorching sun look

golden state tshirt

  • Golden State Warriors t-shirt jersey, just like how it’s simple. Not a big fan of t-shirt jerseys but I like this one for some reason.

MILLER

 

chicago bulls pinstripe

  • Indiana Pacers/Chicago Bulls pinstripes. Great days of gritty basketball.

shaq orlando pinstripes

  • Orlando Magic pinstripes…remind me of the Shaq/Penny Hardaway days

MLB:

I’m a big Washington Nationals fan and I love the patriotic feel to their blue home uniforms, usually worn for the Fourth of July.

San Francisco Giants v Washington Nationals

  • Washington Nationals’ patriotic blues

tampa bay rays powder blues

  • Tampa Rays powder blue look

san diego padres camo

  • I’m a sucker for the San Diego Padres camo uniforms

orioles orange

  • Baltimore Orioles’ orange

New York Yankees v Arizona Diamondbacks

  • Arizona Diamondbacks’ purple and white combo from the early 2000s because it reminds me when the Yankee dynasty ended. No other reason.

NHL:

NHL Winter Classic Washington Capitals at Pittsburgh Penguins

  • Washington Capitals’ home red, white and blue

oilers oil drop

  • Edmonton Oilers’ black-and-silver Oil Drop, don’t ask me why because I can’t tell you why.

US PRESSWIRE Sports-Historical

  • Buffalo Sabres’ blue-and-yellow buffalo and sabre look

boston bruins alternate

  • Boston Bruins’ bear face

canucks blue green alternate

Stars v Avalanche X Modano

 

new york rangers lady liberty

  • Vancouver Canucks blue-and-green/2000s Dallas Stars/New York Rangers Lady Liberty

What do you think about my list? What were some of your favorites?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Spencer Irvine

Fun loving, D.C. area sports fan, which means I'm frustrated and still can't get a grip on what a win truly means (or a championship for that matter).

2 responses to “Top Alternate or Retro Uniforms in the Pros (#NFL, #NBA, #MLB, #NHL)”

  1. valueoftheDollar says :

    Spencer, I was expecting a photo for each of your pics! I haven’t seen most of them! Is that too much to ask? Cause if it is, then you shouldn’t have written this! hahaha

    Love you man! And I love following your posts! Keep ’em coming.

    I’d love to hear you talk about the different possibilities we could see coming out of this week in the BCS – like, what could happen if every combination of teams lost! (and what you think of the Ohio St. situation where their credibility is on the line despite their undefeated record).

    Do it! haha

  2. valueoftheDollar says :

    Oh, this is Dustin, by the way. I forgot my name was listed as “valueoftheDollar.”

Leave a Reply

